Staff List

New Mexico Historic Preservation Division
Department of Cultural Affairs
Bataan Memorial Building, 407 Galisteo Street, Suite 236, Santa Fe, NM 87501

General E-mail: nm.shpo@state.nm.us
General Information: (505) 827-6320
IPRA Requests: http://nmculture.org/legal/inspection-of-public-records-requests
Fax Number: (505) 827-6338

Due to COVID-19, HPD Staff is teleworking. While Email is the best point of contact, staff will also be checking voice mails daily. Digital compliance and informational requests may be sent to NM.SHPO@state.nm.us and all messages left at 505-827-6320 will be returned as soon as possible.

HPD Staff

General Information Historic Preservation Division
nm.shpo@state.nm.us
(505) 827-6320
Jeff Pappas, PhD State Historic Preservation Officer
jeff.pappas@state.nm.us
(505) 827-6320
Annette Apodaca Business Operations Specialist
annette.apodaca2@state.nm.us
(505) 827-6314
Jessica Badner New Mexico State SiteWatch Coordinator
jessica.badner@state.nm.us
(505) 476-6160
Gretchen Brock Historian, Architectural Review
gretchen.brock@state.nm.us
(505) 476-0548
Gail Craven Finance Manager
gail.craven@state.nm.us
(505) 476-0523
Geoff Cunnar, PhD Archaeologist
geoff.cunnar@state.nm.us
(505) 476-0530
Michelle Ensey Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer and State Archaeologist
michelle.ensey@state.nm.us
(505) 490-3928
Bob Estes, PhD Archaeological Review
bob.estes@state.nm.us
(505) 827-4225
Harvey Kaplan Tax Credits & Architectural Review
harvey.kaplan@state.nm.us
Karla K. McWilliams Historian
Programs: CLG & Grants; Architectural Review (CDBG)
karla.mcwilliams@state.nm.us
(505) 827-4451
Steven Moffson State and National Register Coordinator
steven.moffson@state.nm.us
(505) 476-0444
Rick Reycraft, PhD Archaeological Review
richard.reycraft@state.nm.us
(505) 452-6115
Melinda Wheeler Financial Specialist
melinda.wheeler@state.nm.us
(505) 827-4021
Andrew Zink State Archaeological Permits & Archaeological Review
andrew.zink@state.nm.us
(505) 827-4040


Archaeological Records Management Section

Visiting Hours:  ARMS is open from 8:00 AM to 12:00 PM and from 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.  Before visiting, please call the main line (505-476-1275) to make an appointment. 

Email: Please email nmcris.support@state.nm.us for all general queries.

Mailing Address MNM/ARMS c/o Historic Preservation Division, Bataan Memorial Building, 407 Galisteo Street, Suite 236, Santa Fe, NM 87501
Street Address: ARMS, Laboratory of Anthropology, 708 Camino Lejo, Santa Fe, New Mexico 87501
Phone: (505) 476-1275
Fax: (505) 476-1320

ARMS Staff

Bridget Barela Administrative Assistant
bridget.barela@state.nm.us
(505) 476-1275
Richele Lake Archaeologist
richele.lake@state.nm.us
(505) 476-1279
Kendall McGowan Archaeologist
kendall.mcgowan@state.nm.us
(505) 476-1286
Derek Pierce Program Manager
derek.pierce@state.nm.us
(505) 476-1287
Cordelia "Dedie" Snow Archaeologist
cordelia.snow@state.nm.us
(505) 476-1283
Cortney Wands Archaeologist
cortney.wands@state.nm.us
505-476-1341

 

Research at the Historic Preservation Division

Hours of operation: Monday through Friday 8:00AM to 12:00PM and 1:00PM until 5:00PM, excluding state holidays. Research at HPD is available by appointment. Please contact Gretchen Brock at gretchen.brock@state.nm.us or by phone at 505-476-0548 to schedule an appointment.