2022 Heritage Preservation Awards Presented by the New Mexico Cultural Properties Review Committee May 20, 2022 at 1:00 p.m.

View video of LIVE ceremony on Facebook, here:

https://www.facebook.com/nmhistoricpreservation/videos/2045852628957437

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

Award presented to: Human Systems Research, Inc., Las Cruces

Human Systems Research, Inc (Las Cruces) is receiving this award for outstanding achievement in the field of Cultural Resource Management. HSR is a scientific and educational institution that has pursued basic and applied research in archaeology and related scientific and historic fields since 1972. The entire archaeological staff at HPD supports the nomination. Award presented to: Human Systems Research, inc. - Dr. Deborah M. Dennis / Dr. David T. Kirkpatrick / Mr. Karl W. Laumbach.

ARCHITECTURAL HERITAGE AWARD

Award presented to: Castañeda Hotel, Las Vegas

This award is being presented to the Castaneda Hotel Restoration and Renovation, City of Las Vegas. Built in 1898 by the Santa Fe Railroad, this historic National Register-listed Harvey House hotel sat derelict since the 1960s. Utilizing the NM Historic Preservation Division's Federal Tax Credit program, the \$6.8 million Castaneda project was completed in 2021. This project represents one of the largest tax credit projects in the history of HPD and the State of New Mexico. Award presented to: Mr. Allan Affeldt (owner/developer) / Mr. Conor Reichert (project manager) / Ms. Diane Kasha (Hotel Manager) / Mr. Daniel Lutzick (Developer) / Mr. Jorden Grimm (Contractor).

HERITAGE ORGANIZATION AWARD

Award presented to: City of Las Cruces and Supporting Citizens

This 2022 Heritage Organization award recognizes the City of Las Cruces and individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to its preservation, rehabilitation, and restoration. The City of Las Cruces enacted its first historic preservation ordinance in 2019 after years of grass roots efforts. The City went on to apply for and become the state's newest Certified Local Government, becoming certified in 2021 by the National Park Service. This award recognizes the contributions of the City and individuals to the spirit and ethos in developing a historic preservation program within the City of Las Cruces. Awardees include: Ms. Heather Pollard for her long-standing efforts in support of the preservation and restoration of the Amador Hotel and serving as representative of this effort; Ms. Irene Oliver-Lewis for her advocacy in the preservation of the South Mesquite neighborhood and support in the rehabilitation and reuse of the historic Court Junior High School; Ms. Faith Hutson for her long-standing involvement in preserving the South Mesquite Historic district; Mr. Robert Cruise for efforts to restore numerous buildings in the Alameda Depot and Mesquite Street Historic Districts; Mr. Greg Z. Smith for his support in creating a historic preservation ordinance and advocacy for historic preservation; The City of Las Cruces, represented by Dr. Troy Ainsworth, Historic Preservation Planner, for its commitment to establishing a historic preservation program. The efforts of the City and these citizens illustrate the importance of historic preservation at the local level where historic preservation was once highlighted in individual efforts, it is now a matter of public policy.

INDIVIDUAL ACHIEVEMENT

Award presented to: David Kozlowski, SiteWatch Chapter Coordinator (Galisteo Chapter)
Mr. Kozlowski is a motivated volunteer who spends 300 hours per year working to protect some of the New Mexico's most vulnerable archaeological sites. David works in partnership with the Bureau of Land Management and was nominated by Jessica Badner, who coordinates the SiteWatch program at HPD.

ARCHITECTURAL HERITAGE

Award presented to: City of Albuquerque and Supporting Others

The Main Library is significant in the area of architecture because the library, designed by Albuquerque architect George Pearl and completed in 1975, is exceptional as a localized interpretation of Brutalist design, crafted for its particular site, its local climate, and its users, while still maintaining the bold forms and linear elements of Brutalism. Listed to the state and national registers in 2019 and Landmarked by the City of Albuquerque in 2020, the Main Library is the first brutalist building in New Mexico so recognized; Award presented to Mr. Dean Smith and Mr. Joshua Fox of the City of Albuquerque, Main Library; Thea Haver of Modern Albuquerque and Leslie Naji, Preservation Planner with the City of Albuquerque.

HERITAGE ORGANIZATION

Award presented to: St. Theresa Community Center, Grants

Completed in 1951, the St. Theresa Community Center is significant because it was founded by Reverend Gerard Geier, a Franciscan priest assigned to the St. Teresa of Avila Parish in 1946. Still owned by the diocese, the center is the focal point of Grants and continues to carryout Father Geier's vision as a place for the community to gather to celebrate. The center was built from local materials, including the malpai (lava rock) for the foundation and 18,000 tons of sandstone for the walls. Award presented to St. Theresa Community Center and the following participants: Father Alberto Avella; Mr. and Mrs. Corinne and Fred Padilla; Mr. Robert Horacek; and Mr. Donald Jaramillo.

More information about the Cultural Properties Review Committee (CPRC) may be found here: https://nmhistoricpreservation.org/cprc.html